My Social Web Experiences

Well, since WoBloMo is officially a bust, I may as well not try to get posts in on time. It’s been an interesting exercise in posting regularly, and I have to say that it wasn’t all bad. I was surprised that I was able to come up with this many things to write about. This is one of those days when I’m at a loss, so I’ll just blab about my experiences with social media for a post.

Like most people, I didn’t see the point in the social web sites, like Facebook. I guess Twitter falls into that category too. I tried Twitter first, and I have to say that I didn’t see it. I didn’t know why people used it at all. Then I was on a mobile plan with unlimited texts, that no one took advantage of, so I decided to do something with them. I added Twitter to my mobile phone and that’s when I got it. For some reason, it’s incredibly entertaining to hear from various people about what they’re doing and what’s on their mind.

That last bit is what you have to realize about Twitter. When you can just blab about what’s on your mind and you don’t care what friends see it or who in the world sees it, and then someone that you didn’t know starts following you because they have something in common with you, that’s pretty cool. I cut off the unlimited texts because of my lifestyle change, so I had to get my Twitter fix somehow. I didn’t get TweetDeck the first time I tried it, but I tried it again, and I’m addicted. I follow lots more people now because of it. It’s a near necessity for following many people. If you follow me on Twitter, you know just how much I use it.

Facebook is kind of a different story for me. What was cool about Facebook was that I started getting in touch with all these people that I hadn’t talked to in years. That was also a downside, I might add. But it’s mostly a positive. For me, even keeping up with email correspondence seems difficult. But on Facebook, you can see what an acquaintance is up to right away, and then you remember to drop a note.

For me, I guess, Twitter and Facebook are kind of the same activity as writing letters was to my grandparents. Except it’s a lot faster, and suits my distracted nature.

Leave a Reply

